Liebster Award Winner

3and3quarters.net_.png

I was minding my own business one evening a few days ago when I received a comment on my blog letting me know that I had been nominated for the Liebster Award.

“What in the world?” I thought to myself.

I immediately typed Liebster Award into Google and found out that:

“‘Liebster’ is a German word meaning beloved or dearest. This Award exists only on the internet as pixels, and is given to bloggers by other bloggers. Many see it as a way of promoting and recognizing fellow bloggers, for their efforts and accomplishments in becoming a bonafide blogger.”

The requirements to “win” this “award”? Have less then 200 followers. I qualify!

So, I chose to graciously accept this award, with many thanks to Jenna at Grace and Motherhood for the nomination! I really appreciate it. 🙂

Liebster Award Rules

  1. Thank the blogger who nominated you for the Liebster Award.
  2. Link back to the blogger who awarded you.
  3. Upload the award to your blog. It can be done as a blog or on the sidebar.
  4. Answer the questions you have been asked.
  5. Nominate 5 blogs with followers less than 200 that you believe deserve to receive the award. If you feel others deserve the award, then you are welcome to nominate more.
  6. Notify the nominated bloggers so that they can accept the award. Bloggers can be nominated more than once, giving their readers more chances to learn more about them.

And that’s it! It’s less of an actual award and more something to do for fun… but it’s also a great excuse to do a Q&A of sorts. So let’s get on with it!

Questions

What has been your biggest challenge with blogging?

Posting regularly, for sure. That, and striving not to compare myself to other bloggers.

What is your number one tip for other bloggers?

I don’t feel very qualified to give any tips for other bloggers, but I would definitely say, “Invest in your relationship with God.” Every time I go through kind of a spiritual dry spot (admittedly of my own doing…), my writing suffers. I truly have nothing to write about unless I’m abiding. This is so hard, but something I hope to be better at.

What are your hobbies other than blogging?

Reading, cooking, baking, babysitting (my siblings 😊), crocheting, playing piano, and eating chocolate. (Does that count as a hobby?)

What successful entrepreneur do you admire and why?

I don’t have a favorite entrepreneur per se, but I do have a favorite author, and that would be Elisabeth Elliot. A lot of my readers may or may not have already known this… but it’s true. 😉

Who is your favorite blogger and why?

My favorite blog/website would probably have to be DesiringGod, under John Piper. I’ve been known to spend hours reading articles, listening to podcasts, and just gleaning all sorts of gospel truth from that wonderful site.

Tell us about your blog and why you started blogging.

For all of my fifteen years on this earth, I have always been a very wordy person. Meaning, I talk a lot. I have always loved to write in one form or another, so, once I drifted away from writing fiction, blogging seemed like the natural next step, and a powerful way to be used by God, too. I wrote blog posts in a Word document for six months before actually starting this blog. I was afraid people would think it was silly. Once I started, I grew to love it. I don’t really have a niche… I just write about what’s important to me, so there are several themes that come across pretty strong. I also use this blog as a way to process what God has been teaching me in my spiritual life. Most of the time I’m writing about things I’m wrestling with at the moment.

Item you can’t live without.

This one is super hard! There are a ton of things, including God, salvation, the Bible, and Jesus’ forgiveness, that I literally couldn’t live without. Besides all that, my list would include family and friends (without whom life would be pretty lousy). And only after all that stuff is the actual stuff… my laptop, books, music, chocolate… etc. 🙂

What and who motivate you to write?

When I first started blogging, I was doing it mostly for the novelty of it. I was blogging for the dozens of readers I had accumulated within a month or two, and the thrill of knowing that people were reading my words. And then, as all that died off, I began to be motivated more by the realization that, even though I was getting fewer views every day, God was using my blog in powerful ways with individuals. You hear people say that even if one person reads your blog and is impacted, it’s worth it—well, that began to resonate with me. I would get a comment from someone I’d never met, in another country, telling me I’d encouraged them. People I knew would tell me how faithfully they read my blog, and how much they love it. That kind of stuff really motivates me to write. Because it makes it clear that it’s not anything I’ve done that is making an impact in this blogging adventure of mine. It’s however God decides to use the words I type to impact people in ways I hadn’t expected.  Which is pretty amazing. 🙂

 

My Nominations

(No obligations, ladies… feel free to turn down my nomination if you want to. 🙂 )

 

My Questions (for my nominees to answer 🙂

  1. What has been your biggest challenge with blogging?
  2. What is your number one tip for bloggers?
  3. What hobbies do you have besides blogging?
  4. Who is your favorite blogger and why?
  5. Why did you start blogging?
  6. What and who motivate you to write?
  7. What is one thing people would be surprised to know about you?
  8. If you could eat one meal with one famous/influential person, what meal would it be and who would you eat it with (and why)?

Thanks again to Grace and Motherhood… this is so much fun. 🙂

And thank you to all my readers/subscribers/supporters… you all are just amazing.

 

One thought on “Liebster Award Winner

Leave a Reply

