Make a Summer Bucket List!

It’s almost summer (for real this time), and that means—drum-roll please— it’s time to make a summer bucket list! I have never actually done this before this summer… but, since I’ve read about it on blogs, and some of my close friends are doing it, I thought I would give it a try.

And I am having so much fun! Let me encourage you to try it. Here’s what you need to know…

What’s the Point of a Summer Bucket List?

A summer bucket list is a long list of what you want to do in the summer. That’s the obvious part. But here’s the fun part: There’s a lot more to it than just a to-do list. Here are some of the benefits:

  • It gives you attainable goals for the summer.
  • It gives you a great record of what you did all summer, once you get to the end.
  • It helps you beat “summer-boredom” by giving you something to do when you have an empty plate.
  • It gives you a sense of productivity and accomplishment… even without doing school. πŸ˜‰
  • It helps you grow and learn things, instead of squandering away your summer.
  • It builds up great anticipation for summer!

So, with all those great reasons, you just totally want to write a summer bucket list, right? Right! Let’s get to it…

Set Goals in Different Categories

Make your summer bucket listΒ well-rounded. Don’t have the list be full of books to read and nothing else. Don’t use up your whole list with visits to the beach and forget about other things. Try to include goals from other categories, such as faith and personal growth, hobbies (my 4-year-old sister wants to go hunting… don’t know where that came from πŸ™‚ ), service to others, things to eat (my 4-year-old brother literally put “Eat French Toast” on his list) and justΒ fun. But try to put some meaningful stuff on there, too.

Exerts from My Summer Bucket List

Here are a few things I put on my list for this summer.

  • Read through the New Testament.
  • Read books! (I’ll spare you my list… but there are nine books on it, and only one is fiction…)
  • Learn baking/cooking techniques (such as how to make hard-boiled eggs, how to bake a pie, how to make spaghetti, etc.).
  • Learn how to drive! (I’m taking something that’s a lot like Driver’s Ed this summer… πŸ™‚ )
  • Have a campfire and make ‘smores.
  • Try out new donut recipes!
  • Make cookies for neighbors and deliver them.
  • Eat corn on the cob.
  • Eat lots of watermelon!
  • Get Chick-Fil-A ice cream!
  • Go to the beach.
  • Go to the zoo.
  • Go for a picnic…

Those are just a few of the items on my bucket list. I have a lot more… maybe I can share those another time.

A Reminder…

And here’s an important thing to remember: Ultimately, God is the One who is sovereign. Remember this verse: “The mind of man plans his way, But the LORD directs his steps” (Proverbs 16:9). Once, when Elisabeth Elliot had an interruption to her schedule, she said, “But because God is my sovereign Lord, I was not worried…Β There is no doubt that he can manage the timing of my days and weeks. So I can pray in confidence, Thy list, not mine, be done.” Remember this! Write it out at the top of your bucket list!

So, there you go. I would strongly encourage you to make a summer bucket list. It is so much fun!

And if you do, then please, comment about it below! Leave a comment telling me:

  • Whether or not you’re going to make one this year…
  • What kinds of goals you’re going to set…Β 
  • Or something else (?) πŸ™‚Β 
7 thoughts on “Make a Summer Bucket List!

  1. Sam G. says:

    Wow, what a great idea! I’m about to go to the store now. Maybe I can get a notepad for my summer bucket list? πŸ™‚ Either way, I’m totally doing this. I’ll put things like “finish my second draft” and “learn to drive” (sound familiar? πŸ™‚ ) on my list. French toast is an obvious necessity, as well.

    I didn’t know you liked Chick-fil-A! I just wanted to tell you: that restaurant is a HUGE deal where I live. Like, it pretty much has its own culture. It’s actually kind of ridiculous, now that I think about it, but I just wanted to let you know about it. πŸ˜‰

    Anyway, the summer bucket lists are an awesome idea! I can’t wait to see how they turn out!

    Liked by 1 person

    • MakennatheRambler says:

      Chick-Fil-A is amazing… that’s so neat about how much people like it down there! I hadn’t even thought about that…
      I’m glad you like this idea! I can’t wait to hear about how it goes! πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. Sarah says:

    Last week I started a summer bucket list as well! Throughout the school year, I kept on thinking of things I wished I would do once school was out and now I finally have them written down on paper πŸ™‚ It’s so helpful for me and it does give a sense of accomplishment looking over it later and knowing the summer wasn’t wasted! I have a variety of things on my list including cleaning my room (yup, have to have that on there :(), memorizing scripture, reading, painting, camping, and lawn care. Anyway, thanks for the post! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Aynsley says:

    I just finished the huge deep clean of our room today, so I can check that off my bucket list! Bucket lists for summer are an amazing thing to have, even if you don’t do EVERYTHING, you can still do most things. I really enjoyed making my bucket list, Makenna, including things that I knew I was going to do, all the way to things that are pretty much out of the picture, but I’m hopeful for! Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

