Five More Ways Spring Gives Me Hope

8 Things (8)

I know I said that my last post would probably be the last in my spring series, but I couldn’t resist doing a part two. I like spring a lot more than I realized! 🙂 Also, I just realized I forgot the most hope-giving part of spring in part one (which you should go read right now if you haven’t already)… so part two it is!

  1. Jesus’ Resurrection! By far the most hope-giving event that ever occurred in the universe is celebrated in spring. Most of us know it as “Easter,” but very few of us know the actual significance of this day. I’m going to do a post on this all by itself… so stay tuned. (I guess the spring series isn’t done after all! 😉 )
  2. The hope of summer! I don’t know about you, but for a kid who’s just about ready to be done with ninth grade, the hope of summer is a very real, very exciting thing (even though I’ll have to do Geometry all summer 😦 ). It reminds me of the hope of heaven for a Christian. Just as the hope of summer helps a student endure those last few months of school, and so the hope of heaven helps us endure life here on earth, even when its hard. And think about how eagerly kids (and college students, and homeschool moms) look forward to summer. That’s a great picture of how eagerly Christians should await their homecoming and/or Jesus’ return! (That’s a lesson I’m still learning…) But I wonder… will there be Geometry in heaven?
  3. Rain… When I think of spring weather, I wish I thought of sunny days and clear skies, but that’s just not reality where I live. Spring weather for us basically means rain one day, clouds the next, more rain the next day, and a clear afternoon or two (if you’re really lucky). But even the spring rain can be a reminder of our hope. Take a look at one of my favorite verses from Hosea 6:3— “So let us know, let us press on to know the LORD. His going forth is as certain as the dawn; and He will come to us like the rain, like the spring rain watering the earth.” Even the rain is a reminder of our hope! God is so faithfulness (as certain as the dawn), and He will come to us like the rain. So when the spring rains turn your yard into a lake (or is that just me?), remember the faithfulness of your faithful God.
  4. Light… After daylight savings is over, it just keeps getting lighter and lighter until my little siblings start protesting about going to bed at 8:30 because “it’s still light outside.” I personally love how light it starts to get in the morning, since the light from my window wakes me up in the most refreshing way. And light! Light is right up there with newness as one of the themes of the Christian life: Christians are called the light of the world, and they’re told to let their light shine (Matthew 5:14, 16), to put on the armor of light (Romans 13:12), to live in the light of day (Romans 13:13), to walk as children of the light (Ephesians 5:8) in the light (1 John 1:7), and to bear the fruit of the light (Ephesians 5:9). And what about all the verses that have to do with the Jesus as the light? Jesus is described as the light of men (John 1:4), the True Light (John 1:9), and “Him who has called you out of darkness into His marvelous light” (1 Peter 2:9). Light has a big place in the Christian’s life, and the lengthening days are a good reminder of that. 
  5. Jesus Remains the Same. And, last but not least, even though spring is a time full of changes, it is also a reminder that even though the seasons change (quite literally), “Jesus Christ is the same yesterday and today and forever” (Hebrews 13:8). The plants are changing, the animals are changing, the days are changing, the color of shoes you’re supposed to wear is changing, but Jesus is not changing. And that’s something you can count on, no matter what season… whether spring, summer, fall or winter, Jesus Christ stays the same. That means He’ll always love you, He’ll always be faithful to His promises, and He’ll always be good. No matter what.

That’s it for now! I hope you’re enjoying spring as much as I seem to be. 😉 And like I said in my last post, my hope doesn’t really come from longer days or the hope of summer (and certainly not from rain)… it comes from the God who stays the same, even as I change.

 

What do you love about spring? How does it give you hope? Comment below! 

Leave a Reply

