Five Ways Spring Gives Me Hope

8 Things (12)

Another spring post for you! (I apologize for the delay.) And I think this is going to be the last of my little series… because, quite frankly, I’ve run out of topics strictly related to spring. 😉 But we’ll see…

Spring is the season of hope. I alluded to this last week, but want to elaborate now. Spring is the season right after winter, which is often represented as the bleakest, darkest, and (if you live in my area) dreariest season of the year. I love the Christmas part of winter, but after that… it can get old.

But spring! Spring is another thing altogether. When I begin to see flowers popping up in my yard, I rejoice, because I know that means spring is coming! Like this verse in Song of Solomon 2:11-12: “For behold, the winter is past; the rain is over and gone. The flowers appear on the earth, the time of singing has come, and the voice of the turtledove is heard in our land.”

And now, on to 5 ways that spring gives me hope:

  1. Baby animals! I am not necessarily an animal lover… but when it comes to baby animals (or baby anything, really), I’m sold. From the baby chicks we got a few weeks ago to the baby sheep we pass on our way to church, the baby animals that just seem to go with spring simply melt my heart. And how do they give me hope? It seems that spring is full of new birth. And new birth is what Christianity is all about, seeing as we are those “who were born, not of blood nor of the will of the flesh nor of the will of man, but of God” (John 1:13). So baby animals are an amazing reminder of the new birth that those of us who are born again have experienced.
  2. Baby people… Okay, so maybe this isn’t strictly related to spring, but… my friend’s older sister just had a baby. And she is the cutest baby I’ve seen all season. 🙂 So I have definitely been thinking about baby people (or at least one baby person) lately. And even thought there are a hundred ways that baby people give me hope, I’ll only say one: It shows me how incredibly talented and skillful our Creator is. I look at the sweet face, the little nose, the tiny fingernails and toenails, the fine hair, and the soft skin, and marvel that my God did that.
  3. Birthdays! While we’re still talking about the subject of birth and being born, my sister, my mom and I all have birthdays in April/May. So naturally, I love spring for that reason. And why do birthdays (particularly mine) give me hope? Because nearly fifteen years ago, God decided to create me in my mother’s womb… and He not only created me in His image, but has redeemed me and has a plan for my life. Talk about hope!
  4. Newness and the Christian… I’ve been talking a lot about new things as they relate to spring. Newness is shown to be a real theme all throughout the Christian’s life. Through Christ, the Christian is made into a new creature (2 Corinthians 5:17), gets a new self (Ephesians 4:24), and becomes a new man (Ephesians 2:15). Jesus sacrificed immensely so that “we too might walk in newness of life” (Romans 6:4). And our God is so amazing, so very loving and kind, that His mercies are new every morning (Lamentations 3:23).
  5. Flowers… In my biology class, we’ve recently finished studying plants. After weeks (like two, but it felt like a lot more) of cutting apart flowers and leaves and stems and looking at them under a dissecting scope and drawing them and labeling them and studying them… it gives you some appreciation for those things. I never took the time to stop and think about how intricately each plant is designed, how amazingly detailed and structured that flower truly is. We rejoice with the arrival of new plants, but spring is also an opportunity to thank the Creator and marvel at the works of Him who does all things well.

So there you have it, 5 ways that spring gives me hope. But the truth is, my hope doesn’t come from spring, or anything in this life (not really), but only from God. He’s teaching me this more and more, and, even though I have to relearn it day after day, it’s a good lesson to learn. 🙂

One thought on “Five Ways Spring Gives Me Hope

Leave a Reply

