To Sleep in Peace

 

Welcome to Post #2 of my little spring series. 🙂

A little more than a week ago, my family got baby chicks. Four little balls of fluff small enough to hold in one hand, and so adorable! One day we’ll put them out in the yard with the other nine chickens, but for now, they’ll stay in our laundry room in a big red bucket with a heat lamp. They have lots of food and water, and plenty of nice soft wood chips. They have everything they could possibly need.

A few nights ago, my sister and I were up in the middle of the night because of a strange, loud noise that sounded like a never-ending motor. We went downstairs to listen from the back door, and, on our way back to bed, stopped in to look at the chicks.

They were bustling about, despite it almost being midnight. With the heat lamp lighting up the little bucket where they make their home, they have no real concept of “day” and “night.”

As my sister and I were watching them, they suddenly began to bed down. Three of them laid down in a little heap, and the other laid down a little ways away. I was amazed as I watched their tiny backs begin to go up and down, up and down. It made me think of this verse: “In peace I will both lie down and sleep, for You alone, O LORD, make me to dwell in safety” (Psalm 4:8).

I mentioned earlier that the chicks had no concept of day and night. Another thing they have no concept of (not really) is danger. They stay in their red bucket, with every single need met, all day long. They grow, they sleep, they eat… and we, their “parents,” look after them. They’re perfectly safe.

And its the same way with us humans. In a spiritual sense, our needs are met. We are safe. Perfectly so! Because our Father is all-powerful, all-knowing, totally loving and wholly kind, we have nothing to worry about.

We can sleep in peace.

Those little chicks, sleeping calmly, reminded me of how I ought to be because of my loving Father in heaven. And they also reminded me of a poem I read:

Said the Robin to the Sparrow,

“I should really like to know

Why these anxious human beings

Rush about and worry so.”

 

Said the Sparrow to the Robin,

“Friend, I think that it must be

That they have no heavenly Father

Such as cares for you and me.”

It makes you think, doesn’t it? The truth—the wonderful truth—is that because we have a loving Father who never sleeps or slumbers, we can sleep in peace.

Just like those chicks…

(Oh, and are you wondering what this has to do with spring? Well, baby chicks, of course! Baby animals have everything to do with spring!)

And as a small side-note, I’ll give you all the rest of our midnight escapade. We went back upstairs and prayed together, that we, too, could sleep peacefully under the care of our Father. And we prayed that the noise would go away. And you know what? It did! Just as soon as we said “amen”. We laughed so hard, and then slept so peacefully… safe in the knowledge that we truly serve a good God.

 

Anything to comment? 

  • A way God showed Himself as a good and loving Father to you recently…
  • A way in which something spring-y reminded you of Jesus…
  • Something about cute baby animals…? 😉 
One thought on “To Sleep in Peace

Leave a Reply

