1 Thing to Remember When You’re Striving

 

copy-of-copy-of-copy-of-est-2014

Are you striving? Are you working hard for things that you just aren’t getting? Are you struggling, fighting, and exhausting yourself, trying to fix what’s wrong with yourself and improve your life? Trying to be there for those around you? Trying to be who you know you need to be?

We’ve all been there. We’re probably all there, in one way or another, right now. Be it peace, or love, or security, or acceptance, or anything else, we’re striving after something. We want these things so badly, and we’re struggling for them so hard.

In the end, we’re exhausted. But still, we keep trying. 

I only have one “thing to remember” for this. It’s something that’s spoken powerfully to me recently. This one truth has been meaningful to people for centuries. It’s nothing you’ve never heard before. But this simply truth has the power to change our whole life.

Are you ready for it? Here it is:

Cease striving and know that I am God. Psalm 46:10

We are humans. We struggle. We strive. We work hard to fulfill ourselves, to feel safe, to get love, to be what we need to be. It’s in our nature.

As a result, we end up tired and weary and burdened and loaded down. We end up exhausted and discouraged. Because the truth is, we can’t do it.

But God! Look what God tells us.

Cease striving and know that I am God.

Another translation, perhaps the more widely known one, reads, “Be still and know that I am God.” This, too, is powerful, but I like the picture that “cease striving” brings to my mind. Too often, I’m striving. Hard. I’m exhausting myself, trying to do the things I was never made to do. Trying to fill God’s place.

I was blessed by looking at the original translation of this verse. The word translated “God” in this verse is “Elohim,” which is the word for Creator, and it also entails might and power.

Do you realize what that means for us? 

That means that for everyone who’s ever felt insecure, we can stop trying to change and fix ourselves and our situations.

Cease striving and know that I am… Creator. If God is your Creator, then why do you strive? Why strive after looking better, being better? God has created you, and that means you can be still. Because God is Creator, you can rest in His wisdom when He made you, in His plans for His glory. You can trust that God will be faithful, and that you are, indeed, fearfully and wonderfully made.

That also means that for those of us who are loaded down with heavy burdens, we can let go.

Cease striving and know that I am… Mighty. If God is Mighty, then you can rest in Him. Let Him be your refuge and strength, as it says earlier in the Psalm. Let Him be your strong tower. Because your God is a mighty God, you can be still and rest in the knowledge that He has you in the palm of His hand. You can stop striving to fix your situation. You can stop striving to carry your heavy loads. You can just give them to your mighty God.

Lastly, that means that for those of us who struggle with feeling unloved or unaccepted, we can rest in the arms of our Savior God, the One who died to love us.

This is the same God of whom was said, “How precious is Your lovingkindness, O God! And the children of men take refuge in the shadow of Your wings” (Psalm 36:7). You can rest in this God who loves you. Know that He loves you, and be still. Stop striving after love in other places, stop working to be accepted by other people, and simply be still before the God who loves you, oh, so much. 

Do you see how this one truth, this one “thing to remember” has the power to change hearts and transform lives? And yet so many people (especially myself) forget it. We hurry on with our lives, we strive, we hurry, we struggle, and we forget to be still before our Creator, our mighty God, our loving Savior. We forget to remember this one truth that can change everything.

It reminds me of a lovely song by a woman named Laura Story, called “I Can Just Be Me.” The last line in the chorus beautifully sums up this post:

“Be my God, so I can just be me.”

The idea is that when we try to be God, we fail. But when we rest in who God is, we can simply be ourselves. When we remember all that God is, and all He’s done, we can be ourselves. Messy as we may be, we can rest in the knowledge that God is God.

This truth has spoken powerfully to me recently. I hope God will use it to speak to you, as well. I pray that everyone who reads this post would be encouraged to contemplate how it’s not us, but God. We can cease striving, because He is God.

God bless you all, and may He show Himself faithful. Until next time… 🙂

 

Any thoughts? Please comment! I’d love to hear from all of you!

Linking up with Wise Woman, Tuesday Talk, Testimony Tuesday, Embracing the Race, Dream Together, Modest Monday, Unite, and Good Morning Mondays

8 thoughts on “1 Thing to Remember When You’re Striving

  1. Hailey says:

    So true! No matter how hard I try I am not loving. I am not patient. I am not kind. I am not selfless. I am not perfect. But my God is! I will not cease striving to be more like Christ, but I will cease trying to be perfect and do it on my own, because I never will be!
    Great post, Makenna! I really appreciated it this morning. These “Things to Remember” are pretty great! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • MakennatheRambler says:

      Thank you, Hailey! I feel exactly the same way. And thanks for the distinction there… I’m not telling anyone to stop trying to be more like Jesus, but just to stop trying to fill His place in their lives by their own striving. It is a real comfort to me–who is very prone to worry, fear, insecurity, not feeling good enough, etc.–to know that I can rest in just knowing that He is God. I’m a striver by nature… but I don’t have to be!
      Thank you for your comment! You have officially made my day. 🙂

      Like

  2. Loved by the King of kings says:

    Great reminder! It’s so easy to forget and to let our minds stray over to our worries and concerns – AGAIN. So we have to be still, again.
    I remember the first time I ever meditated on this verse. I was at a retreat on a very large Bible campground. I took off hiking down the hill in the spring snow, and hiked alone with God as He whispered that verse over and over to me in my heart. You know how quiet everything is when it is snowing? It was such a serene experience that I’ll never forget it. Except that as life happens, I do have it get pushed to the back of my mind, so thanks for reminding me!
    Also, I never realized that it was Elohim. That speaks to me of Father, Son, and Holy Spirit, as the Genesis account says, “Let US make man in OUR image.” So, Creator, Savior, Helper, Comforter, Friend… What a truly loving and wonderful God He is!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sam G. says:

    “Cease striving and know that I am God.” What a simple, powerful verse!

    Something I strive very hard on is grades. I’ve always been told how smart I am, but high school is hard; when I fall short of a perfect grade, I feel like a total failure. It’s a problem I didn’t realize till recently, when I got a few red marks on an essay and, the week before, I missed two words on my vocab test. (That last one is almost funny, in a way. I nearly cried over my 96% score.) It’s probably the same reason algebra is the literal bane of my existence: I can’t do it quickly and flawlessly. I now realize just how much I need to cease my striving and know that He is our Mighty Creator! 🙂 Thanks for the post, Makenna. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Aynsley says:

    That’s something I have a problem with too, Sam. My teacher talked about how grades aren’t everything, and even though God wants us to do everything for Him, he doesn’t really care about our grades. Unless we do them sinfully or something, they’re not apart of the fruit of the Spirit. You know, love, joy, peace, and A+’s. What? Oh, sorry, I added that. But, seriously, this is a really great post. I’m gonna be busy working on this one. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

