4 Things to Remember This Veteran’s Day

copy-of-copy-of-est-2014

Today is Veteran’s Day. Today is the day we honor those who have served in our military. Both my grandpas were in the military. My dad’s dad was in the Air Force, and  my mom’s dad was a colonel in the Army. Both sacrificed a lot for their country. Their families sacrificed, too.

My great-grandparents were also in the military. My grandma’s dad was held prisoner of war in World War II by the Japanese. My grandpa’s dad was in both the Army and Navy. So many people have served, and today is the day we honor them.

What are some things you can remember today about those who have served?

1. They have sacrificed… a lot.

Everyone in our military has sacrificed.  Some sacrifice being around when their children are born. Some sacrifice spending Christmas with their families. Some sacrifice their comfort and their security. Some sacrifice their health. Some sacrifice their very lives. But the gist of it is, every single one of the people in our military has sacrificed.

2. They have sacrificed for your freedom. 

This ought to be a humbling thought. That men and women sacrifice everything for you to be free… In the words of G. K. Chesterton, “The true soldier fights not because he hates what is in front of him, but because he loves what is behind him.”

3. Thank them for their service. 

Our veterans deserve our thanks. They have sacrificed so much for us. I challenge you to thank at least one veteran today. Thank them for everything they’ve done. It would no doubt make their day.

If you’re a veteran and you’re reading this, then let me say: Thank you. Thank you for serving our country and for sacrificing so much so that I could be free.

4. Veteran’s Day points us to Jesus. 

Seriously, anything can point you to Jesus if you look at it the right way. Veteran’s Day is all about honoring those who have fought for our freedom, and remembering that freedom isn’t free. And what is the message of the cross? That Jesus bought our freedom, that our freedom isn’t free. And we, as Christians, honor the One who sacrificed everything for our freedom. So Veteran’s Day points us to Jesus.

What are your thoughts this Veteran’s Day? Are you thankful for your freedom, both as an American as a Christian? Be sure to thank a veteran today— and don’t forget to thank Jesus, the author and perfecter of our faith, who has bought our freedom. I will leave you with this verse:

“You were not redeemed with perishable things like silver or gold from your futile way of life inherited from your forefathers, but with precious blood, as of a lamb unblemished and spotless, the blood of Christ”  (1 Peter 1:18-19). 

Remember this verse this Veteran’s Day. Are we not truly free, and so thankful for it?

 

P.S. Apologies for this post being so late. I had originally planned something different, but ended up going with this one. 🙂

Do you have something to add? Comment below! 😉 

8 thoughts on “4 Things to Remember This Veteran’s Day

  1. Sam G. says:

    Okay, I’m really loving these Things to Remember. I just wanted to start with that.

    My grandfather was in the Air Force, too, but he talks of it so rarely that sometimes I tend to forget. Honestly, I didn’t even know Veterans Day was today till my grandparents said they were going out to lunch for the veterans discount!

    Also, it’s so true what you said about anything pointing toward Jesus. He truly is all around us! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sarah says:

    Love the post! When you mentioned thanking someone who’s served our country, I immediately thought of my grandpa who served in World War II in the navy and who I always would send an email his way today….but is now in fellowship with his Lord and Savior in heaven. We do owe much appreciation and gratitude for all those brave young men who served our country….and I’m honored to have known a few of them.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Aynsley says:

    I don’t really know what to say in this comment, maybe I shouldn’t say anything at all. But I just wanted to let you know that this is a very honoring and respectful post about our Veterans. It was very enjoyable to read. Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

