4 Things to Remember When You Want to Worry

est-2014-1

Hello, everyone! Welcome to post #2 of the November series, Things to Remember. (Here’s #1, if you missed it. 🙂 ) This time I’m addressing that lovely thing called worry that plagues so many of us. I know I’ve struggled with worry, and I have to remind myself of these things constantly… especially on a day like today. So here we go:

1. Worrying is a sin.

Whoa, wake-up call! “Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life” (Matthew 6:25a, emphasis added). That was straight from Jesus. Worrying is a sin.

2. Worry doesn’t do anything, anyway. 

Matthew 6:27 says, “And who of you by being worried can add a single hour to his life?” Worrying doesn’t do one little thing… except bad things, that is. Sin always has consequences, and that’s no less true about worry. But nothing good comes out of worry.

3. God holds all our days. 

That is, God is sovereign, and He is in control. From today to yesterday to tomorrow, all our days were “written in His book” before one of them came to be (as it says in Psalm 139:16). And “the very hairs of your head are all numbered” (Matthew 10:30). In Psalm 103:19, it says, “The LORD has established His throne in the heavens, and His sovereignty rules over all.” Not only will worry accomplish nothing, but we have no reason to worry because we have a sovereign God!

4. God is love, and God is good. 

If God wasn’t love, and if He wasn’t good, I wouldn’t be terribly comforted by His being sovereign. But He is love, and He is good! If there’s one thing that would rock our world forever, it’s believing these truths! If we believed this, we’d never worry again. This means that everything that God does (i.e., everything that happens in our day-to-day lives, everything that happens in our world) is done in love, for good. Remember Romans 8:28? “And we know that God causes all things to work together for good to those who love God…” God is working for our good. Now consider some verses from Psalms—

“The LORD is good to all, and His mercies are over all His works” (Psalm 119:68).

“Surely the LORD will give what is good” (Psalm 85:12).

“For the LORD is good” (Psalm 100:5).

“You are good and do good” (Psalm 119:68).

There’s so much more I could say, but I think these four points are enough for now. Next time you want to worry, remember that. I know I’ll try to. God is good, and He is love, and He is in control. What can we possibly have to worry about?

 

 

Linking up with Coffee for Your Heart. Do you have anything to add? Anything you try to remember when you want to worry? Comment below! 🙂 

13 thoughts on “4 Things to Remember When You Want to Worry

  1. Sarah says:

    Great reminders!
    Corrie ten Boom said, “Worry does not empty tomorrow of its sorrow; it empties today of its strength.” Worry does nothing but drain a person of their emotional strength and is simply a lack of trusting in a God that promises to be with us always through whatever life may throw at us. I fall short of this all the time–life is filled with things to worry about 😉 I just have to remember that God is (and will always be) in control. It also helps me to pray and talk with God about my worries… Thank you for your post!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sam G. says:

    This is a fantastic reminder, particularly today. I’ve read through the book of Matthew several times, yet it slips my mind that worry is a sin, and God is good. 🙂 I’m beginning to really like this “Things to Remember” series! I’m looking forward to the next one.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Aynsley says:

    Great post, Makenna! I know that especially this time of year makes me worry about catching the flu, or getting sick, but I really need to remember how good God is and that He’s always in control of our lives no matter what we think might happen to us, or does happen to us. Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

    • MakennatheRambler says:

      That sure is helpful. I also find it helpful to remember that we are commanded (in the Bible) not to worry about tomorrow. That always takes a load off my back by freeing me to think only of today. And of course God is always sovereign. Thanks for commenting! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

