5 Things to Remember When You Feel Like a Failure

EST. 2014.png

Welcome to the very first post in the Things to Remember series! As I mentioned in an earlier post, I’m going to be doing this series this November so that I can keep growing my blog while I’m busy. 🙂

This one hits close to home for me. To be honest, this is one of my favorite posts I’ve written so far. I’m a teenager, after all. Between high school and growing up and everything else, sometimes I just feel like a failure. Or like I’m going to be a failure. Or like I’ve never been anything but a failure. Do you know the feeling? I’m sure you do.

So here is the list of what I have to remind myself whenever those feelings creep in. Because the truth is, I’m not a failure, and neither are you. And here’s why:

1. God’s love is not dependent on YOU. 

God won’t love you any more or any less for a failure or success, because He already went all the way. God can’t love you any more than He already does. And consider for a minute where you were when Jesus redeemed you. Totally, utterly sinful, rebellious, lost, filthy… And He loved you. You see? It was never dependent on you in the first place.

2. The goal is progress, not perfection. 

We are humans, therefore, we are nowhere near perfect. If you’re a perfectionist like me (and maybe even if you’re not), that is depressing. “What? I’m not perfect yet?” we say. “I must be totally failing in my Christian life.” But none of us is going to be perfect until heaven. What should we aim for, then? Not perfection, but progress. Just because we won’t get to perfect on this earth doesn’t mean we shouldn’t get closer to perfect.

3. God uses our weakness, struggles, and yes, our failures, for His glory.

Guess what that means? It’s okay to fail! Perfection just isn’t going to happen here on earth. We can strive for perfection, but in the end, the outcome will be exhaustion and burn-out… and we’ll still be messed up. I think a better alternative is to obey the command in Psalm 46:10— “Cease striving and know that I am God.” If God is God, then I can just be me… imperfect, messy, and overwhelmingly loved. And if I’m just me, then God can work through me to glorify Himself. God doesn’t get the glory if I’m doing just fine on my own. He gets the glory when I’m so totally messed up that only He can redeem the story.

4. You can’t do it on your own… but you don’t have to.

 “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me” (Philippians 4:13). “Apart from Me, you can do nothing” (John 15:5). Consider those two verses. We try so hard to succeed on our own, and there it is, right in the Bible, that without Jesus, we can do nothing. But with Him? All things. It reminds me of something David Livingstone said: “Without Christ, not one step. With Him, anywhere!”

5. Today is a new day… and so is tomorrow. 

As far as God is concerned, we always have a clean slate. God isn’t expecting us to earn the salvation He’s given us. We obey out of gratitude, because we want to please God now, but when we fail, God doesn’t go away. “For a righteous man falls seven times, and rises again” (Proverbs 24:16). And guess who’s always there to pick us up?

Alright, I’m done. Those are the five things to remember when you feel like a failure. Some of this may be trite and repetitious, but it really resonates with me whenever I struggle with those feelings of failure. It is, to me at least, such a breath of fresh air to remember these truths. But if you remember nothing else, remember this: Even when you fail, God is still God. And when it comes right down to it, that’s enough.

 

 

 

Do you have anything to add? Do you have any thoughts or verses that you like to remind yourself of when you feel like a failure? Comment below! 

Linking up with: Grace at HomeThankful Thursday, Coffee for your Heart, Grace and Truth, and I Choose Joy. 🙂 

12 thoughts on “5 Things to Remember When You Feel Like a Failure

  1. Sam G. says:

    Wow, I REALLY needed this right about now. It’s only November 4th and I already have the feeling that I won’t be completing my novel within 30 days this year, what with everything coming up a few weeks (you know what I’m talking about). I’m having trouble keeping up with my daily word count as it is, and I hardly even leave the house! But even if I don’t complete my novel, that doesn’t prevent me from being a “winner”; it’s okay to fail sometimes, and as you said, God uses our failures for His glory. I can’t blame you for saying that this is one of your favorite posts that you’ve written, it really made me realize that I don’t have to sweat over this. It was silly to worry about something like NaNoWriMo, anyway. 😉 Thanks so much!

    Liked by 1 person

    • MakennatheRambler says:

      Thanks, Sam! You are so encouraging in your comments. I look forward to them so much! And I don’t think you’ll have any problem winning NaNo. “I can do all things through Christ who gives me strength”, right? And even if you don’t, you’re absolutely right— even then, you’re not a failure. To be honest, I was really close to not getting in my word count yesterday. This is really an exercise in discipline! Well, I’ll be praying for you! 🙂

      Like

      • Sam G. says:

        Thank you! I’m glad you’re so confident that I’ll do it, because confidence is contagious! 😉 I was about 400 words short yesterday, and if I want to catch up in time for Double Day tomorrow, I think some word sprints are in order. Thanks again!! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Aundrea says:

    I have loved all of your posts, but this is one of my favorites too! The enemy is quick to convince us that we are failures and it’s easy to believe because we know our own weaknesses apart from abiding in Christ. But, what a beautiful reminder that we can be secure in our Father’s love even when we fall short. And, the scriptures promise that we are held secure in His hand!
    -24 The steps of a man are established by the Lord. And He delights in his way. When he falls, he will not be hurled headlong, Because the Lord is the One who holds his hand.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Aynsley says:

    Thank you so much! That was a wonderful post, and I’m so glad I came to your blog today. Sometimes I do feel like I’m a failure, in most everything. This post was really encouraging to me. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sarah says:

    This morning in our Choice Gleanings we read, “No matter how thoroughly we sweep the house, sunlight will reveal more dirt…We need the searching of light of Christ and His Word to reveal all sin…” I was just reminded that no matter how much we strive for perfection, we will always be left short and have other areas to clean and improve. Thank you for your wonderful post! I especially liked the 5th thing to remember, “Today is a new day…and so is tomorrow.” I am SO grateful for that wonderful fact…that no matter what happens during the day, I can always, by God’s grace, start fresh in the morning!

    Liked by 1 person

    • MakennatheRambler says:

      Absolutely, Sarah. I love what you shared about how there will always be more to “clean.” It is really encouraging to me to remember that we can try and try (and we do), and we’ll always feel like we’ve “failed” if we don’t just realize that it’s not about that, anyway–it’s about Jesus being enough. I’m almost ALWAYS discouraged when I think of myself, but if I shift my thoughts to think about God, I realize that even when I can’t, God can. 🙂 Have a great day, and thanks for commenting! (Your comments are always such a joy to read! 🙂 )

      Like

  5. Lori @ Frog's Lilypad says:

    These are wonderful reminders, Makenna. I’m so thankful for a clean slate every morning so I can work on being more like Jesus. I can’t wait to read the rest of this series. Thank you for sharing with Thankful Thursdays.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

