Who Really Reigns?

ten-tricks

In less than a month, the people of America will be electing one of two candidates into office as President. Both candidates are messed up. Really messed up. (Then again, what human isn’t messed up?) And one of these people will very soon be elected into the highest office in the United States.

A scary thought?

That’s what I was thinking, too. Every time I hear the phrase “current events,” it makes me nervous. What’s going on now? Every time I watch a presidential debate, I wonder how in the world this is going to turn out, and I’m tempted to worry. Current events have made me worry in the past, but this time, I think there may be another alternative.

I’m not going to tell you who to vote for or why you should vote or why you shouldn’t vote. I’m also not going to tell you where I bought my tickets to Canada that you should flee the country. I’m just going to share something I came across in my Bible a few days ago.

One morning, I was minding my own business, reading in the Psalms, when Psalm 33:1 caught my attention:

Sing for joy in the LORD, O you righteous ones; praise is becoming to the upright.

Boy, I thought to myself, I don’t think a lot of people are singing for joy about the elections right now. People are feeling scared and depressed and angry and indifferent, but nobody is singing for joy. Some people don’t even know whether or not to vote at all (a dilemma I would be faced with if I were four years older). But then I read on in this beautiful Psalm:

The LORD nullifies the counsel of the nations; He frustrates the plans of the peoples. The counsel of the LORD stands forever, the plans of His heart from generation to generation. (Psalm 33:10-11)

And then I was amazed. Look at that! God is—believe it or not—sovereign over things like “the counsel of nations” and “the plans of the peoples.” And guess Who’s counsel really stands forever, and Who’s plans actually get carried out?

God’s!

Is that not a reason to sing and rejoice?

Because no matter the outcome of this election, God is really the One in charge… and He always has been. God is the One who really reigns over the affairs of men. And that is a reason to rejoice.

Hallelujah!

So whatever you may be worrying about this fall, and there certainly seems to be a lot to worry about, just remember Who’s really in charge. And before you move to Canada, think back to every time God’s been faithful in the past—from parting the Red Sea to creating you in your mother’s womb. He’s loved us when we were the worst creatures on the planet. He’s been faithful for centuries. He’s come through for His people over and over.

Why would He stop now? 

 

 

For this post, I’ve linked up with Hearts for Home. Do you have any comments? Share your thoughts below! 

5 thoughts on “Who Really Reigns?

  1. Aynsley says:

    This is amazing. Makenna, I think you get wiser each day! Let the Lord lead the people of this nation where He wants us to go. I want to believe in Him and trust His guidance more each day, and the only way to do that is if we give Him our all.

    2 Chronicles 7:14
    If I shut up the heavens so that there is no rain, or if I command the locust to devour the land, or if I send pestilence among the people, and My people who are called by My name humble themselves and pray and seek My face and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven, will forgive their sin and will heal their land.

    Like

  2. Sara says:

    Wow, Makenna. You said it so well. My mind wants to run to worry and stress when I think of the elections. But, you are right that when we focus on and trust in the Sovereign Lord, we can have peace in this crazy world! “It is He who changes the times and the epochs; He removes kings and establishes kings; He gives wisdom to wise men And knowledge to men of understanding.” Daniel 2:21 – NASB

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

