On Your Way

The other day I attended an event called Missions Fest. The theme was centered around refugees, immigrants, and people groups moving to America from their own countries, and how we, as American Christians, can reach out to them. There were dozens of booths, exposing us to all sorts of missionary organizations. We heard a lovely talk about reaching out to those unreached people groups that are right here, in America. Many, many people belonging to unreached people groups have fled to our country. As a result, sometimes, being a missionary doesn’t mean traveling across the world. Sometimes, being a missionary means walking across the street.

The verses the speaker used were Acts 17:26-27, which reads, “And He made from one man every nation of mankind to live on all the face of the earth, having determined their appointed times and the boundaries of their habitation, that they would seek God, if perhaps they might grope for Him and find Him, though He is not far from each one of us.” God has established people’s times–that is, when they live. He’s also established the boundaries of their habitation–where they live. 

So that family that lives across the street from you? Those refugees down the road? God put them there.

It is truly amazing to think of all the opportunities that are right here, right in front of us. It’s a challenging thought. I have a heart for evangelism… but I also have a lot of fear. Even so, sometimes obeying God means facing those fears.

And sometimes it means walking across the street.

This reminds me of something that one of my teachers at my homeschool co-op said. “A lot of people make a big deal about the Great Commission,” he said, speaking of Matthew 28:19, where Jesus tells believers to go into all the world and preach the gospel. “But the truth is,” said my teacher, “Jesus was really saying, ‘On your way.’ On your way to work, preach the gospel. On your way to school, preach the gospel. On your way to wherever you’re going, preach the gospel.” My teacher was speaking of a gospel lifestyle. Not just a “today-I’m-going-to-preach-the-gospel” attitude, but an attitude of “wherever I’m going, I’m preaching the gospel.” Whether by words or deed, eating or drinking, by whatever we do, if we do it to the glory of God, we can be preaching the gospel on our way.

I like this way of putting it. We should witness on our way, in our hometowns, in our everyday lives, right here. Not to the exclusion of foreign missions, of course. We should absolutely, positively, no-doubt-about-it support and participate in foreign missions. They are hands down wonderful. But that’s not everyone’s calling. And even missionaries come home sometimes.

That’s why I like the idea of evangelizing “on your way.” It makes it less scary. It’s not a great and horrible task that every Christian must do to be acceptable to God. It’s a way of life for the believer.

Because of this, we needn’t always focus on foreign missions and witnessing to people from other countries. We mustn’t limit the Great Commission to somewhere else. There are ten thousand opportunities to preach the gospel right in front of you. America needs missionaries, too. So does your neighborhood, your school, your workplace.

Like I said before, this is hard for me. I fall short… really short. It’s scary to preach the gospel. But preaching the gospel doesn’t always have to be street preaching and handing out tracts. Sometimes it’s obeying your mom in public, or praying in a restaurant, or any number of simple things. Sometimes it’s loving another Christian, and sometimes it’s actually witnessing to someone. Even so, we are human, and we will chicken out and miss opportunities. But you know what? Our God is a God of grace. Aren’t you glad?

To sum things up: There are mission opportunities all around us. From refugees and immigrants to people at Starbucks, there are hundreds of ways to reach out. And sometimes—often—reaching out is as simple as “on your way.” And always remember that God gives grace… unspeakable grace. (Which is why we’re here in the first place, right?)

So there you go… Something to think about. 🙂

 

 

For this post, I’ve linked up with Coffee for Your Heart, Thankful Thursday, Heart Encouragement, and I Choose Joy. Do you have any thoughts on my post? I’d love to hear from you! Comment below! 

26 thoughts on “On Your Way

  1. Aynsley says:

    That’s right sister! This is one of your best posts yet! I agree with everything you said. I hope I can have more courage and strength to just walk across the street and “preach the gospel” in actions or in deed. Thank you for posting this!

    Like

    • MakennatheRambler says:

      Thank you, Aynsley! And thanks for taking the fantastic picture and letting me use it in this post. 🙂 And I wish I could have more courage and strength, too. I guess that’s where God comes in. “Whom the Lord calls He will use.”

      Like

  2. Sarah says:

    What a wonderful post Makenna! Another thing that stood out to me at Missions Fest was that there are approximately 1,800 “unreached” people groups in the world. The first country that has the most unreached people groups is India (with 1,264), next China (340)…and the next? The United States with 287 unreached people groups. It’s unbelievable — yet believable. Thank you so much for the reminder and the challenge to tell others the good news whenever and wherever we are!!

    Like

    • MakennatheRambler says:

      Thanks for those statistics, Sarah! If I’d taken notes like you did, maybe I could have included those in my post. Oh well! 😉 I must say… you’re part of the reason I wrote this post. “Why don’t you write about Missions Fest?” you said to me. Well, I decided that was a really good idea. So thanks for that, too! (What would I do without brilliant friends like you?) 🙂

      Like

  3. Sam G. says:

    WOW! This certainly gave me something to think about. When you quoted what your teacher said about preaching the Word “on your way,” I had to pause for a moment. That may have changed how I behave as a Christian , even if just the slightest bit. And it’s incredible, really, how so few people realize the damage in America is just as bad, sometimes worse, as in other countries. I think we often forget, living in our blessed lives without anything worse than a stubbed toe, that there is someone near us – maybe even a friend or that really nice lady down the road – who needs someone to reach out to them (even if they don’t know it yet). But maybe that’s just me. 😉 Anyway, amazing post! I think this one may stick with me for a while.

    Liked by 1 person

    • MakennatheRambler says:

      Thank you for saying all that, Sam! It gave me something to think about, too. Now comes the hard part: living it out. That’s why I tried so hard to emphasize grace… because this is the natural out-flowing of what God’s done for us, right? Not a task to complete or a box to check. And God won’t love us any more or less if we do or don’t preach the gospel… He’s already loved us all the way, through Jesus. But because of that, now we’ll want to tell others about Him. On our way, right? 😉 Anyway, thanks for the comment. It’s super encouraging to me… and my prayer is that this blog would be encouraging to my readers. To God alone be the glory!

      Like

  4. Sara Farrington says:

    Makenna, as one of your faithful readers I am incredibly encouraged by this post too! It demolishes the notion that we can’t be effective and ministering right where we are. I was encouraged by your post to keep being faithful right where the Lord has me. There are so many opportunities to minister “on the way”. Thank you for using the talents that the Lord has given you to bless others! I love your blog! XOXO

    Like

    • MakennatheRambler says:

      You have my prayers. 🙂
      “And people who do not know the Lord ask why in the world we waste our lives as missionaries. They forget that they too are expending their lives… and when the bubble has burst they will have nothing of eternal significance to show for the years they have wasted.”
      – Nate Saint

      Liked by 1 person

      • Loved by the King of kings says:

        Wow! Great quote by Nate Saint!
        I’m definitely not wasting my life by serving the Lord! He makes His presence known in my life; He is my forever Friend! All that the world offers passes away, is fleeting, is temporary. But a relationship with the Holy God, eternal!

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Meg Weyerbacher says:

    So many things said here seriously made me excited and “Amen.” I wonder if this is God’s way of taking some of our excuses away? I don’t know but for us it has been believing the money is available and wondering is it is wisdom to spend thousands of dollars on only a week trip when that money could have been used better instead of hotel stays, souvenirs and only a small part going to help the people. I think this post is amazing and hit the nail on the head for all of us, especially ones who are longing to reach out but haven’t many resources. God makes a way where there seems to be no way! Bravo that you took the time to share this.I am passing along. xoxoxo (found you @ Crystal’s place today!!)

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Loved by the King of kings says:

    Well said!
    I’ve found it helpful to make a point to dwell in a constant state of awareness of God with me and to ask Him to lead me and show me when He is giving me an opportunity to witness. Sometimes you have more time with a person than others. If it is an employee at the local gas station, you may only have the time to say something like, “I’m so glad the Lord gave us sunshine today, aren’t you?” or “Is there something I can pray for you about today?”. Kindness and compassion shown have great potential for attracting a person to Christ. These small gestures may open up better opportunities with the same person at a later date.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Lori @ Frog's Lilypad says:

    Such truth, Makenna. All Christians are called to be missionaries in sharing the Gospel whether it is on foreign soil or right next door. Thank you for sharing with Thankful Thursdays, I hope to see you again next week.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

