50,000 Words in 30 Days

picture-for-blog

One month from today, I start off on an adventure. A month long trip. Not a trip to Europe or an African Safari. Not a cruise or a camping trip. No. This is an adventure of words.

50,000 words.

In one month.

My adventure is known to the world as National Novel Writing Month, sometimes abbreviated to NaNoWriMo. This is a month-long challenge to write a novel… of at least 50,000 words. (Did I mention, in one month?)

I had, of course, heard of this before. To me, it always sounded crazy. I suffer from chronic inner-editor disease, which basically means I’m a perfectionist who has a hard time letting go of the imperfections in a story I’m writing. Thus, it is very hard for me to ever finish writing a book–let alone in a month.

So I had dismissed NaNoWriMo as crazy and my current project as imperfect. Because of a silly rule I’d made myself that I couldn’t start another project unless I’d finished the one I was on, I just stopped. I stopped writing for a long, long time. I still “loved” it… in theory. But the action had lost its luster.

This is the place I was in when I met my now good friend, who happens to be quite crazy about NaNoWriMo. It was impossible not to be affected by her enthusiasm. She wasted no time asking me about it… and, after a bit of thought, I decided it was the kick in the pants I’d been needing for weeks and months.

I dove in.

So now I have a story idea that I’ll try to develop over the course of 30 days, permission to slack off on my school work in order to try and write 1,666 words a day–and some serious nervousness.

In one month from today (what a scary thought!), I’ll be sitting down at the computer with nervous excitement, typing the very first words of my new novel.

If I don’t post very often in November (though I’ll try to), this is why. But that’s not the only reason I’m telling you about this. I really just wanted to share with you something that has been very exciting to me lately.

And you know what? You can do it, too! There’s no requirements about who can do it… and no one sees the finished work but you (unless you want them to). So why not give it a try? If I can do it, anyone can do it.

Trust me on that one. 😉

6 thoughts on “50,000 Words in 30 Days

  1. Sam G. says:

    (The cover photo!!)

    This post made me smile. I can’t believe NaNo begins next month! It doesn’t seem like that long ago when I was prepping for last year’s novel. I’m excited that you’re doing it, I know you’re gonna love it! 🙂 Sounds like you have a pretty good friend! ( 😉 )

    Like

  2. Aundrea says:

    Awesome that you are willing to step outside your comfort zone to try something new! I bet it will be a great experience! Don’t be afraid to go out on a limb…that’s where the fruit is! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

